Proudly South African – not so much

Our family has a love of most music, so when opportunity to see a concert presents itself, we are normally there.

For as long as I can remember my sister has been obsessed with RHCP (Red Hot Chilli Peppers).  So when it was announced that they were touring SA there was great excitement (mostly by my sister who got Golden Circle tickets).

The opening acts are always a highlight as they are normally SA bands.  Our little country is filled with a bunch of talent so when Die Antwoord was announced as the opening act I wasn’t filled with joy.  Since we had never seem them live in action I secretly hoped that I would be super impressed and swayed to become a big fan.  They are South African and all.  This was not the case.  I just don’t get them.  They vulgar and common.  Having said that, in  my opinion Max Normal/Ninja is more of a marketing genius then a performer.  He reinvented himself from max Normal to Ninja and definitely appeals to people.  Whether it be  the shocker factor or that people truly enjoy the music, I am not sure.  RHCP requested them as their opening act, that must say something.

Die Antwoord

Die Antwoord

 

Enter the band we were all there to see. RHCP. I have been to loads of concerts but never have I been to one were the crowd participation was so amazing.  At times all I could hear was the crowd singing.  These guys have been around for ages and are true entertainers.  Flea at one point walked on his hands from one end of the stage to the other. He is spokesperson for the band it would seem and knows his way around a bass guitar.  Chad Smith is a drumming machine of note.  Anthony Kiedis did leave me a tad disappointed.His interaction with the crowd was all of a “Hello Africa”.  Some people will argue that we are all there to hear the music and not listen to them speak.  I beg to differ.  I would be listening to them on my iPod if that was the case.  You tour, you should entertain and give the crowd a little conversation.

RHCP

RHCP

 

I still had an absolute blast at the show and would definitely see them again if presented with the opportunity.

Next concert on the cards is Bon Jovi (don’t judge me but I am super excited).  This concerts happens to be the evening before the Bieber performs.  Hubby drew the short straw and gets to take the kids to see him.  I have a root canal booked, busy, can’t make it.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Proudly South African – not so much

  1. cupcakemummy says:

    Also not a DA fan and wasn’t swayed either,
    agreed that RHCP should have “entertained” a little more but oh well, maybe they all toured out. Heard the lead was sick as a dog and kept running backstage to vomit between songs…
    Root canal booked – ROTFL

Leave a Reply

