Today I am grateful to be South African, Proudly South African

I know there will be some of you out there that just don’t get this.  That given the chance would be packed up and shipped off to OZ or some place where rugby and cricket is also played, schooling is free, you don’t need to lock your doors at night, the streets are all lined with white picket fences and the currency is not ZAR!

I am grateful to have grown up in the Eastern Cape, Slummies to be exact.  Small town but plenty of soul.  The most stunning beaches around and the people are like no other you will find!

I am also grateful to have been living in Cape-Town for the past 3 years.  This place is like my Utopia.  I love the mountain, the people and the fact that Aunty Helen is in control.  Living here has taught me about all the diverse cultures this country has to offer.  My “coloured” chicks have taught me about making pancakes when a baby gets it’s first tooth, eating pickled fish over Easter and what a Crown Birthday is.

I am grateful for Creme Soda, Mrs Ball’s chutney, Grandpa headache powders, Nik Naks and Chappies bubblegum.  I am grateful I have beautiful protea’s growing in my garden.  Grateful we have a kick ass cricket Test team that is currently number one in the world. Grateful that we can braai 10 days in a row and never be tired of it.  Grateful and proud to be part of Madiba’s rainbow nation.

1377297_121120132431_Proudly_South_African_

I am not blinded by the problems that we have in SA but this is a post about  being grateful and I accept my South Africa as it is. I am comforted by the fact that my children are blind to colour and all the faults of our forefathers are things they are now learning about in History and have not experienced firsthand.

Bottom line is I am grateful to be an African and more importantly a South Africa.  To me local is lekker and that is AYOBA!

My Home

My Home

 

7 thoughts on “Today I am grateful to be South African, Proudly South African

    • love, kids and other things says:

      I know, right! I thought since they feature in my grocery cupboard they could feature on my blog 🙂

  1. cupcakemummy says:

    I’m proud to be a South African, though I guess I’m more of a Namibian at heart as that is where I spent my growing up years. Maybe that’s why I don’t feel like anywhere in particular is home?

Leave a Reply

