Who’s That Girl? Kerry Van Harmelen aka KB

Ordinary Women

Today’s “girl” is one who hails from my hometown, East London.  Kerry was Head Girl of my Matric year and our paths did not cross again until 4 years ago.  My services where volunteered to arrange our 20 year school reunion (I was not jumping through hoops at this prospect) with this brought me get in touch with some awesome ladies, I had honestly not given too much thought too since leaving school.  The lovely Kerry was one of these ladies.  She shares my love for bubbles, has a wicked sense of humour and such a kind heart you can only love her.  I also admire her for having 3 BOYS (twin in the mix) that keep her on her toes !!!  Have a read what this lovely had to say.

Getting to know you:

cropped-images.jpg    Tell us a little bit about yourself?

KB:  I’m a dreamer & an incurable romantic. I live mostly in my head, but I’m working at coming down to earth & getting my feet on the ground. I work in the local development sector, trying to get Government funding / incentives into the right hands. I am divorced, with 3 beautiful boys, who are the loves of my life. 

cropped-images.jpgDaily routine?

KB:  5.30 alarm.

5.30-6.00 snooze alarm at 10min intervals

6.00 get up (cursing that I didn’t get up at 5.30) & wake 3x smallish boys

6.00-7.00 run like mad getting boys ready for school, making bfast, lunch, showering myownself, and

7.00 dash out door

8.00 get to work (exhausted)

8.00 – 12.30 work work work (in open plan office, with a bunch of crazy-nice people)

12.30 lunch (with a friend, to the gym or home for a nap, depending on variety of factors)

1.30-5.00 work work work (with a strong coffee to get me from 3.30 to 5.00 without falling asleep

5.00 pick up smallish boys (from swimming, their dad or their nana)

5.15-7.30 homework, packing for next day, making supper, considering making lunches for next day, but never quite get around to it, yelling, feeding dog & cat, BBM friends, shower boys…. All usually with a glass of white wine or whiskey & sparkling water in hand (*breathe*)

7.30-8.30 read to boys (my favourite part of day – we’re currently reading Cornelia Funke’s “InkHeart”

 8.30 consider reading, TV or  bed with phone. Bed with phone wins most days.

cropped-images.jpg Things you love about living in South Africa?

KB:  Weather, friends, the ocean, challenge of development (& how I can add value) and how SAffers self-deprecate with great humour (from professionals like Zapiro to my colleague Mlu)

cropped-images.jpg   What is your middle name?

KB:  Anne, after my mom (not Bean, although I do like that one)

cropped-images.jpg Fears?

KB:  Out-living any of my children, not being able to travel when I’m retired. I used to have pregnaphobia, but I’m over that! I used also to have flat-tyre-phobia, but I have since changed a flat tyre of a car filled with 3 boys & mountains of stuff on a lonely dirt road, so I’m over that too. J

cropped-images.jpg   Anything you wish to change about yourself?

KB:  I’m constantly working at changing my weight. I’m also a little clumsy & awkward, partially due to my not-so-great eyesight & partly due to my self-consciousness

cropped-images.jpgList 3 of your best personality traits?

KB:  Intuitive, Kind & Huggy (is that a “personality trait”? is that even a word?)

cropped-images.jpg   List 3 of your worst personality traits?

KB:  Overly self-conscious, Sometime I babble (which may be due to point 1 above) & Impulsive (working on that too)

cropped-images.jpg   One thing not many peoples know about you?

KB:  I was born in Zimbabwe & did “pre-primary” 3 times in 3 different countries (Zimbabwe, well, Rhodesia at the time, England & South Africa)

cropped-images.jpg   Do you have any bad habits?

KB:  I bite my nails / I don’t tidy up. At all, if/when possible / When I find a TV series I like, I watch til 3 in the morning

cropped-images.jpg Which bad habits, if any, drive you crazy?

KB:  All of the above

 The fun stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   What was your nickname in high school?

KB:  Kerry-bean or Bean

cropped-images.jpg  Any tattoo’s or piercings?

KB:  Nope, aside from pierced ears, which I did “illegally” while on Geography tour in std 8. I secretly would really like a tattoo (which is now no longer a secret)

cropped-images.jpg What is on your beside table?

KB:  You want a full list? Goodness. Well, essentially, a lamp, a pile of books (including Martha Beck’s “Joy Diet” & 2 of the Game of Thrones series), an old cuppa tea, eye-drops, some random boys’ toys (currently an orange go-go & a broken skipping rope), the earrings I wore yesterday, needle & red thread (for sewing on blazer buttons), my journal and frustratingly, no pens.

cropped-images.jpg   Are you a morning or night person?

KB:  Definitely NOT a morning person. Not really a “night owl” either. I’m thinking I might be a “take a nap whenever you can” person.

cropped-images.jpg If you could get a free airfare, name a country you would visit?

KB:  Madagascar (it will need to take me all the way to Nosi Be – I don’t want to go to the dirty capital)

cropped-images.jpg  One luxury you can’t do without?

KB:  A good haircut

cropped-images.jpg   Ninja’s or pirates?

KB:  Definitely pirates (bring on Johnny Depp)

cropped-images.jpg   Favourite childhood television program?

KB:  Morph

cropped-images.jpg Are you a collector of anything?

KB:  Paper (generally scrapbooking paper)

cropped-images.jpg What is your first thought when you wake up?

KB:  “Where is the snooze button?”

cropped-images.jpg Last thought before you go to sleep?

KB:  Too many & varied to list

cropped-images.jpg  Dream job?

KB:  Travel writer/photographer

cropped-images.jpg   Any hidden talents?

KB:  I am pretty spot on with intuition, and generally nothing really gets past me. 

cropped-images.jpg Are you mostly a clean or messy person?

KB: I’m untidy, but not “unclean”

cropped-images.jpg Name one regret you have?

KB:  I can’t really think of one off the cuff – I want to say “getting married” because I’m divorced, but then I wouldn’t have my gorgeous boys. 

cropped-images.jpg  One thing you miss about being a kid?

KB: Being carefree

cropped-images.jpg One thing you love about being a woman?

KB:  Being nurturing

cropped-images.jpg  Favourite song at the moment?

KB:  “The Proof of Your Love” by King & Country (on WOW 2014 collection)

The serious stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   Do you think morals are universal or relative to the beliefs, traditions and practices of individuals or groups?

KB:  Grief, that’s deep. I think they’re universal (like treating all people with respect)

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think God exists?

KB:  I know He does (but in what form I do not presume to know)

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think any kind of afterlife exists?

KB:  Yes

cropped-images.jpg    Do you vote? Why/why not?

KB:  Yes, everyone counts

cropped-images.jpg  Your thoughts on gay marriage?

KB:  I think LOVE is LOVE and don’t feel I have any right to prescribe to others how they should live their lives.

 

KB

KB

Leave a Reply

