Who’s that Girl? Michelle Bartie

Ordinary Women

I met this lovely lady 10 years ago when we worked together at NFB. We quickly made friends and before long had an amazing supper club going, with in house entertainment provided by the husbands.  Michelle (aka Bart Girl) and the family relocated to Port Elizabeth while we were still living in East London, which made for regular trips to Port Elizabeth for our family.   Shell, I would so have had lip-ice down as the one luxury you can’t do without 🙂

Getting to know you:

cropped-images.jpg    Tell us a little bit about yourself?

MB:  Wife, mother, friend, taxi driver, maid, cook, counsellor blah, blah, blah…….I am very lucky to be able to work part-time in the insurance industry.  I also have a small little home business.  I package gift baskets & boxes, mainly for corporate clients

cropped-images.jpg  Daily routine?

MB:  Wake up at 4h45, gym (when hubby is not out of town), get kids ready for school drop-off, work until lunch time, taxi time!! Home, supper, homework, my other job (gift basket packaging), time for wine & series catch-up – I’m a series junkie!

cropped-images.jpg Things you loved about living in New York?

MB: What didn’t I love??? Oh just the vibe, anyone who has been will relate.  Also the lasting friendships I formed and the overall experience for a young girl, this is where I found the real me and I think changed from a child into an adult.  NYC has a special place in my heart.  This is also where I realised my husband was “the one”! Oh and bagels & Starbucks coffee……………

cropped-images.jpg Things you missed about South Africa while living abroad?

MB: Family, my man, meat – they cook 1 steak for a family of 5!! Yes! I am a read meat chick! Home cooked meals, not everything out of a box!!

cropped-images.jpg   What is your middle name?

MB: Carol

cropped-images.jpg Fears?

MB:    Spiders

cropped-images.jpg   Anything you wish to change about yourself?

MB:    My height, so the weight can be more evenly spread…hehehe

cropped-images.jpg  List 3 of your best personality traits?

MB:   Honesty, true friend, I think my organisational skills are pretty awesome (Yes Nix, Monica is still around)

cropped-images.jpg   List 3 of your worst personality traits?

MB:   Put everyone else’s needs before mine, love gossip (is that bad??), impatient.

cropped-images.jpg   One thing not many peoples know about you?

MB:   I’m quite an open book I think

cropped-images.jpg   Do you have any bad habits?

MB:   Perhaps you should ask my husband cos I think I am just cool…..  

 The fun stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   What was your nickname in high school?

MB:    Shells

cropped-images.jpg  Any tattoo’s or piercings?

MB:  Nah, just ears pierced

cropped-images.jpg  What is on your beside table?

MB:  Lewis Pugh’s 21 Yaks & a Speedo, hand cream, eye cream, panic button, a few mag’s

cropped-images.jpg   Are you a morning or night person?

MB: Definitely morning

cropped-images.jpg  If you could get a free airfare, name a country you would visit?

MB:  Alaska by cruise

cropped-images.jpg  One luxury you can’t do without?

MB: Hand cream

cropped-images.jpg   Ninja’s or pirates?

MB: Neither really 

cropped-images.jpg   Favourite childhood television program?

MB: My little pony, Trompie

cropped-images.jpg  Are you a collector of anything?

MB:  Photo’s, I take hoards and don’t delete anything!!

cropped-images.jpg  What is your first thought when you wake up?

MB: I jump up and go,go,go, my thoughts only kick in with my coffee in the car

cropped-images.jpg  Last thought before you go to sleep?

MB: I struggle to “shut down” at night, so just watch series until I pass out

cropped-images.jpg  Dream job?

MB:   National Geographic photographer

cropped-images.jpg   Any hidden talents?

MB:  None that have presented themselves yet

cropped-images.jpg  Name one regret you have?

MB: I have no regrets, just lessons learn’t

 cropped-images.jpg  One thing you miss about being a kid?

MB:   No worries, freedom, no responsibilities

cropped-images.jpg One thing you love about being a woman?

MB:   Being a mom.  And we really are the fairer sex!

cropped-images.jpg  Favourite song at the moment?

MB:   Avicii, Wake me up

cropped-images.jpg  Since PE has been featured so often on Come Dine with Me SA, if you were a contestant, what would your menu be?One

MB:   Probably something like this: Caprese salad starter, roast deboned, stuffed leg of lamb with a beet root & feta salad and potato wedges and for dessert, creme brûlée and lots of pink bubbles throughout the evening.

cropped-images.jpg  Favourite fragrance?

MB:   Narcisso Rodriguez for Her

The serious stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   Do you think morals are universal or relative to the beliefs, traditions and practices of individuals or groups?

MB:  I think they have a lot to do with your upbringing.

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think God exists?

MB:  Yes

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think any kind of afterlife exists?

MB:  I like to think so but am wavering a bit on this topic at the moment.

cropped-images.jpg   Do you vote? Why/why not?

MB: Yes, I then have a right to have my say.

cropped-images.jpg  Your thoughts on gay marriage?

MB: I have no problem with gay people, each unto their own I say and honestly see no difference between gay or straight marriage.

 

Bart Girl

Bart Girl

Leave a Reply

