Who’s that Girl? Elana Bailey

Ordinary Women

Miss Bailey and I had a lucky chance meeting through her plus 1! They were still living in Jozi at the time and I can honestly say I dont think a day has passed where we haven’t had a what’sapp, email or facebook chat.  This lovely lady is a genius when it comes to painting faces, in fact, on my “To Do” list is still to have a lesson in the mastering of smokey eye.  She is super smart, super witty and super passionate about everything that tugs at her heartstrings.  Have a read and a chuckle about what she had to say!

Getting to know you:

cropped-images.jpg    Tell us a little bit about yourself?

EB:  I have a deep love and passion for the beauty industry. I’m a qualified health and skincare therapist and makeup artist and I have a blog (like everyone else with internet access). I have a beauty blog, though: www.beautybill.blogspot.com. 😉 I’m a mom to three: Mila, William and Mackenzie. The fact that they’re dogs is superfluous. I’m also a show dog mommy. Or is it dog show mommy? Whatever, I show one of my dogs, and I am her mom. Your mom.

cropped-images.jpg   Daily routine?

EB:  Wake up, check phone/time, beg dogs to move so I can get out of bed, wash hands, brush teeth, wash face, feed dogs, feed self, do dishes, check what cleaning/washing needs to be done, do it, check emails/social networks, work (loose meaning), walk the dogs, talk about what’s for dinner, get/make dinner, eat dinner, watch some TV, read, sleep. This of course is an average day, but can be thrown out at any given moment.

 cropped-images.jpg Things you missed about the Mother City while living in Jozi?

EB: The clean-looking sky on the horizon, the familiarity, friends being just a short drive away… until I moved to the other side of the mountain 

cropped-images.jpg Biggest adjustment you have had to make since moving back to The Mother City?

EB:  Trying to understand how suburban areas are not more dog-friendly and accommodating to pets. Johannesburg wins this one.

cropped-images.jpg  What is your middle name?

EB:  Danielle

cropped-images.jpg Fears?

EB:  Too many

cropped-images.jpg   Anything you wish to change about yourself?

EB:  Currently, my lifestyle, which is a constant work in progress.

cropped-images.jpg  List 3 of your best personality traits?

EB:  Resilience, loyalty and (a few weeks later) I’m nurturing. (It really took me a couple of weeks to fill this one in. Anyway, see you later, I’m off to a self-esteem/awareness workshop. :-P)

cropped-images.jpg   List 3 of your worst personality traits?

EB:  I could be more patient, I could have a better thought-to-mouth filter function, and I could be less hard on myself, I suppose. 

cropped-images.jpg   One thing not many peoples know about you?

EB:  I’m allergic to dogs and all types of grass (there are about 5 in SA, according to the nurse that conducted my allergy tests). And about 7 other things.

cropped-images.jpg   Do you have any bad habits?

EB:  Plenty. I touch my nose a lot. I have allergy issues and if my nose isn’t runny, it’s itching, or really dry. I don’t pick it, though, so don’t worry. I sometimes auto-complete people’s sentences in my head, before they’re done talking, so if I look surprised when you tell me something seemingly obvious or boring, it’s because it went differently in my head. This doesn’t happen very often anymore.  

cropped-images.jpg Which bad habits, if any, drive you crazy?

EB: Touching my nose. Actually, no, just my allergies, which leads to lots of nose-touching. It does drive me bananas when people don’t pack shit away when they’re done using it, though. And when one doesn’t close bottles or lids properly. Oxidation, people. *snaps twice*

 

 The fun stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   What was your nickname in high school?

EB: Lana B, Miss B, but mostly just Elana. This one guy called me “legs” because I had sporty legs at some point in my life. Not sure why it didn’t stick. I preferred it to “Betty Boob”. I don’t even know what that means. Who is Betty?

cropped-images.jpg  Any tattoo’s or piercings?

EB:  Ear lobes. I’m incredibly adventurous in the body art department. It’s why I got this super cool stretchmark on my hip, but I can’t tell you what it means. It’s personal. The artist knew what he was doing, obviously

cropped-images.jpg What is on your beside table?

EB:  A lamp, Biologically Appropriate Raw Food books (for the dogs), tissues (both clean and used), and bed socks my ma made for me. 

cropped-images.jpg   Are you a morning or night person?

EB:  I’m a… errrrrr… an all-day person?

cropped-images.jpg If you could get a free airfare, name a country you would visit?

EB:  Repubblica italiana

cropped-images.jpg  One luxury you can’t do without?

EB:  Skin care products. Technically, it’s not a luxury. Not in my book. Otherwise, chocolate.

cropped-images.jpg   Ninja’s or pirates?

EB:  Pirates, because I’d probably fit in, however slightly, with my sailor-mouth. Also, I talk a lot, do Ninjas even talk?

cropped-images.jpg   Favourite childhood television program?

EB:  Heidi, The Simpsons, Care Bears and Gummy Bears. Heidi was non-negotiable. 

cropped-images.jpg Are you a collector of anything?

EB:  Magazines. Wait, that’s hoarding. Can we change this question to “Are you a hoarder of anything?” I collect Jelly Beans and pink Fizzers, do you have any?

cropped-images.jpg What is your first thought when you wake up?

EB: Varies, but mostly “What is the time?”

cropped-images.jpg Last thought before you go to sleep?

EB: Depends on the day, but mostly “A back rub would be nice right now.”

cropped-images.jpg  Dream job?

EB:  Running my own beauty line. Oooh, now that I mention it, can I also run my own bra line?

 cropped-images.jpg   Any hidden talents?

EB:  My boobs twerk.

cropped-images.jpg Are you mostly a clean or messy person?

EB: Pretty balanced, mostly clean.

cropped-images.jpg Name one regret you have?

EB:  Not participating more in social and extra-mural activities at school.

cropped-images.jpg  One thing you miss about being a kid?

EB: Running around and playing sport without a care in the world, and eating anything without a worry. Especially eating Holy Moly’s with my pa in the car, so that my ma wouldn’t know. She sent us to the shop to get bread and milk ONLY.

cropped-images.jpg One thing you love about being a woman?

EB: Just one? There’s an expectation of greatness, which motivates me to be better.

cropped-images.jpg  Favourite song at the moment?

EB:  What is this question? *cries* 23 comes to mind, by Mike Will Made It ft Miley Cyrus, Wiz Khalifa, Juicy J. I love Miley’s parts. Oh, also, Gorilla by Bruno Mars. Love you, Peter! *blows kiss*

The serious stuff:

cropped-images.jpg   Do you think morals are universal or relative to the beliefs, traditions and practices of individuals or groups?

EB:  SHEESH! This is tough. Although I think it should be universal, a lot of the time it is (generally) shaped by beliefs, traditions and practices of individuals/groups. Some issues/situations are clear-cut: there’s a right and a wrong, and other times, there are shades of grey for different people. But the grey is often influenced by beliefs/traditions/culture/brain development. 

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think God exists?

EB:  Does what I “think” matter?

cropped-images.jpg    Do you think any kind of afterlife exists?

EB:  Eh… I don’t think of this very “simply” but yes, I do. 

cropped-images.jpg    Do you vote? Why/why not?

EB:  Yes, because it is my democratic right, as well as a responsibility. 

cropped-images.jpg  Your thoughts on gay marriage?

EB:  I don’t have thoughts on “gay marriage”. If people (read: anyone) love each other and want to be united in marriage, they should be able to make that choice and have the option. My thoughts on marriage, however…

Elana Bailey

Elana Bailey

Leave a Reply

