Happy Birthday to one angel on Earth and one angel in Heaven

23 February always brings with it mixed emotions. It is day my first little Tribelet was born but also the day my aunt would have celebrated her birthday.

Turn back the clock some 19 plus years. A very nervous me suspected I was pregnant.  The logic thing to do was to call my aunt, Vanessa (who was more like my older sister being only 9 years older then me).  No problem at to her, she sets up the appointment, takes me to our family doctor, swears him to all types of secrecy.  A day later she calls me with the news, that I am indeed pregnant!  She tells me to sit tight, not panic and tells me it will all be okay!

To cut a long story short, Vanessa was there when I shared the news with my folks (who were delighted).  She took me on a shopping trip and bought me my first set of Winnie the Pooh baby goodies.  During my pregnancy Vanessa was diagnosed with cancer.  It was a rapid decline and sadly she passed away on 23 November 1994.  A day imprinted in all our minds, hearts and lives.

The due date for my first bundle was around 13 February.  Seemed this little package (of which I wasn’t sure would arrive with indoor or outdoor plumbing) was in no apparent hurry to enter the world.  The timing did seem right for this bundle to make her entrance into the world on 23 February 1995.  Which also happens to be Vanessa’s birthday.  I am not sure that I am a great believer in coincidence.  I like to think that everything happens for a reasons.  The reason being that Tayla Vanessa would forever have an angel looking after her.  Simple as that.

To my dear Ness:

I know you’re shining down on me from Heaven, like so many friends we’ve lost along the way
And I know eventually we’ll be together, One sweet day
Eventually I’ll see you in Heaven

P.S. please give my Pops an extra big squeeze from me.

To my darling T:

Happy Birthday my love. 19 years of blessings we have had. Remember: always wear your invisible crown

Leave a Reply

