Camping *sigh*

I feel like I should defend myself before I get into this blog post.

I have had ONE camping experience in my life.  I was in Standard 4 (Grade 6) and I went with my BFF, Heidi, camping at Palm Springs (not the glam one in the USA).  We went for 3 days and it rained for 3 days.  Strangely we didn’t return home which was only about 40 km’s away. We stayed. In the rain. Weird.  So we literally spent 3 days in a  tent with her family, listening to the pelting rain and having to walk through water soaked grass to the ablutions.  Since that traumatic experience I have managed to skillfully avoid any form of camping for the last 30 odd years.  Until recently……..

My dear husband presented me with the news that we would be going “Up North” to spend Christmas.  That in itself was a challenge to get my head around, then came the bombshell.  We would be camping in Pilanesberg *gulp*  Best part is that the Tribe will love it as the Uncle will be teaching them survival skills like how to cook rice in a 2L Coke bottle *faints on the spot*

Just to clarify I am by no means a diva (although the above might seem otherwise). The idea of chilling around a fire with a drink in hand under the stars, amazing.  Relaxing with a book to read, fantastic.  Non stop braai and potjie food for days, yummy. The thing about camping that freaks me out is:

1. Sleeping on the ground, where bugs can potentially crawl over you in the middle of the night. Yes, I know you get a groundsheet and the tent zip is closed, but bugs are sneaky critters, if they manage to get into my house from time to time surely a tent is not even a challenge?

2. ABLUTIONS – flip man, this just freaks me out. Needing to pee in the middle of the night and having to walk to the “outhouse”.  Then the “outhouse” itself is a worry.  I battle as it is to shower and change at the Fitness Centre, which is clean, now I must do it in a facility that might not be the cleanest.  All the flip flops in the world might not sort that phobia out.

3. Inclement weather – I feel that the weather needs to be perfect for camping, which is never guaranteed. Rain and wind just don’t make for a good camping trip.

This story has caused much delight in our friend circle.  We have friends who are seasoned campers who are now offering to take me on trial run before this December trip.  The list of friends wanting to join this camping trip, to see me in action, is growing as we speak.  I taking bookings if anyone wants to join the list 🙂

Funny-meme-Lets-all-go-camping-they-said

 

 

8 thoughts on “Camping *sigh*

  1. EpicGran says:

    You know what they say… camping was a tradition in everyone’s family until they invented the house! At least you have a few months to practice. LOL

    • love, kids and other things says:

      Not sure a few months is enough time. On the upside though it makes for great blogging content 🙂

    • love, kids and other things says:

      Thanks for the link to the blog post. I love the tip about the cable ties. You and I think alike. Not much a cable tie and some prestik can’t solve. Perhaps we even see you camping, since I am in your area!

Leave a Reply

